red cloak witchGood morning my darklings.  Tom Petty was so right when he sang the waiting is the hardest part.  I’m not a big fan of his, maybe a greatest hits CD.  Maybe.  But he hit the nail on the head with that line.

Don’t get me wrong, I submitted my book to a publisher with an excellent turn around time and they use Submittable  so I can check the progress.  And I told myself I’ve waited this long, I would be a bigger person and be patient.  Not obsessively check my email or the books progress.  Four weeks is not a long time.  But I can’t do it.  I’ve already checked the progress thing three times and I just submitted it about 24 hours ago. lol

But that hanging out there, with something you made waiting to be judged is hard and scary as hell.  Suppose my first time out without an agent it gets slammed?  I can handle it but it means finding another place with possibly not such a good turn around time and doing it all again.

And I will do it again.  And again until someone publishes my book.  I believe in it.  I believe in my dream and my sign from the other day.  This may require a spell tomorrow. 🙂  I know, cheater. lol

Of course, I could have success just as well.  I’ve had short stories published and just that is enough to give me that electric jolt of joy.  I can only imagine what it would be like to get that feeling for my book or how long it will last.  Forever maybe?  Until I can do it again?

No matter what happens, there will be no end to my writing and the waiting game.  I always lose because patience is a virtue I lack but I keep on playing the game. 🙂

