smudge stickdressy witchGood morning my darklings.  Today I’m doing some spring cleaning of the energy in my house.  Last weekend at the witch store, I bought my first smudge stick.  Really I should have done this the moment we moved into this house and periodically afterwards but I wasn’t sure how and I wasn’t doing anything dark so I figured it would be okay.

But in 6 years I’ve done a lot of spells in my home and had some spirits pass through and one little ghost girl who stayed.  It’s time to get rid of all of that and give my ghost girl a chance to cross over if she wants to.

Oddly enough, one of the pages on FaceBook that I like had a post this morning on smudging.  It filled in the holes in my knowledge and it seemed that everyone who commented had just bought a smudge stick within the past two weeks and we were all holding off for some reason.  It seems it’s spring cleaning time for witches. 🙂

I know what smudge stick is made of, sage or white sage, lavender generally unless you’re smudging for something specific and then there may be other herbs entwined.  I know the ways to use it, either light it and let the smoke dissipate around the house or objects, or light and carry it on or in something heat proof and use a feather, fan or your hand the waft it around, making sure to get into the corners of the room or rooms.  What I didn’t know was what to say.   Was there a specific spell?  Did you just focus on cleansing.  Turns out I can say what I like as long as it feels right and I focus.

So we all know by now that my husband is anti-witch and smudging with him around would be a big no-no.  But he has a viewing to go to today so he’ll be gone for a few hours and as not nice as it may seem, I might take that opportunity to do my smudging.  Hopefully it will cleanse things well enough that my castings work better and stop drawing negative energy.  Maybe even my writing will come more smoothly.  Maybe the negativity has been making it hard for my muse to get through to me.  Who knows?  The point is, I’m doing it now that I have full knowledge, because you should never do any witchiness without completely understanding what you are about to do.

