Good morning darklings.  I love my music.  Couldn’t live without it.  Maybe I couldn’t write without it.  There are multiple playlists for parts of my books that I listen to to inspire the feeling in me that I want to give to a reader.  Now lots of writers add their playlists at the end of their books in the acknowledgement section.  I read one that even put which part of the book each song went with.  I think adding the playlists is a cool idea and I like to know what kind of music the writers I read listen t

As  a lot of writers, I started out writing poetry, no gooey love stuff, dark love where it usually didn’t end happily ever after even though when I read a book, I want to happily ever after.  At least for the couple, through whatever perils we decide to put before them.  And as I thought about that again this morning, I was thinking, as I’m sure many of you have already done, that a song is just a poem to music.  Of course, you have to have the talent to write the music for the poem.

Then to take it further, the poem is telling a story in a very limited amount of space.  Personally, I’m usually a five verse or one long poem girl.  Five verses gives room for a sound beginning, a middle with the plot and the last two are usually my “what happens” and resolution parts.  But if you take the poem, that’s basically a very short story, put it to music and then make a video, wouldn’t that be the similar to a 3 to 4 minute movie?

So anyway, this song is one I like to use for writing love, well almost any Dashboard Confessional song does the trick but this one has tarot cards in it and we know I love my cards.  I also figured it would go over better than the heavier music I listen to.  I suggest watching it and, if you like it or even if you don’t, tell me if you think that it could help inspire your writing and if you agree with me or not.

