Jessica Gralbreth’s painting of The Virtue of Love

Good  morning my lovelies.  I know a post on the love aspects of a book is not very dark or gothy but for those of us who are readers, or writers or both, they are important.  They can make or break a book or a book deal depending how much a publisher wants love to play a part in the book.  If it’s romance then obviously it’s major point but in some fantasy or horror, there needs to be an underlying theme of love but it can’t be the most important part of the plot.  That’s just one part and not really the one I want to write about but it’s definitely worth mentioning.

What I’m talking about is how a book lets you fall in love over and over again.  First if it’s a book you can’t put down, no matter the genre, you love it.  You come back to it to read again when you need to escape and you know that story will take you out of the now.  One of mine is The Witching hour by Anne Rice.  I read it when I was 17.  It was a paperback and I read it so many time, read it so often, that the pages turned the color of parchment paper.  The front and back covers fell off and finally when the pages started the fall out, I had to give that one up and buy another one.  I’d have to say that was love of the book and some serious dedication to the characters.

Then there are the ones that you either love or like but come to love the male and female protagonists.  You learn to really dislike the antagonist for putting such perils and stumbling blocks in their way.  You remember when you fell in love and you get a chance to do it all over again through the eyes of someone else.  I think that’s part of what gets you hooked on a series.  Of course you want to know what happens or you wouldn’t bother, but you also get to revisit that usually new love between the hero and heroine

And for those of us that write, there’s no doubt of love.  We wouldn’t go through the writing process if we didn’t love our characters or want you to love them as much as we do.  When I write horror it’s more about just the story I want people to love but when I’m doing the YA dark fantasy, it’s the story and the people in them.  I want you to route for the hero in both genres but I always let me YA’s fall in love.  That deep, forever kind of love.  Even if t has to be a subplot, their love is what drives the pair through the book and I want you to feel them falling in love or the moment they realize it.  Because despite my weirdness or darkness, whatever you want to call it, I am a sucker for love and that sought after happily ever after.

 

