Good morning my gothlings.  My thought today is whether or not it’s normal to dream of your characters?  I do.  Maybe it’s because I’m usually thinking about what they’ll be doing next and how that fits in with my story to get to the ending.  I’ve said before that I don’t know if it’s how other fiction writers write, but I can come up with the beginning and as I start writing I figure out how I want it to end, then I try to fill in the middle with what will lead to the ending I want.

Anyway, as I’ve said, I have frequent nightmares but there’s one that I’ve had so often that when I have it, I know what’s going on.  For years it’s been the same place and the same actions even though I know how it will end.  It’s familiar and that’s what gave me the idea for the title and part of the plot for this book that I’m calling A Familiar Nightmare because as I was making coffee and trying to get rid of the feeling of the dream I told myself not to worry.  It’s a familiar nightmare and then it hit me.  The title, the base, the nightmare and all.  Then I had to get to the computer to start.

After yesterday’s post, you all know I still have nightmares, though that one was minor in comparison, but my characters are invading my sleep as if I’m writing in my subconscious.  Maybe they’re telling me what they want or what I need to be doing with them.  Then I spend the rest of the day trying to get stuff done so I can get back to them and be a part of their world again because no matter what I’m doing, I’m thinking about them.  And this book is giving me that good feeling, that “maybe this won’t suck” feeling that is like a drug to a writer.  When the words come out through your fingertips and you know they feel right.  As if the story is just there and we’re just putting it into words and scenes and feelings.  So I’m not missing the nights that I would have a bad dream being replaced with the characters I’ve fallen in love with.  I just wish there was more time in the day for their world and less of mine. 🙂

