The wife of one of my best friend’s wants to write a book.  She’s just in that stage where it’s in her head and she hasn’t started it yet.  So to help her, he found a chart that’s kind of a joke using Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter and Star Wars with all of the required elements to write an epic novel.  Even though it’s funny and kind of makes fun of us writers, it’s actually kind of true so I’m going to share them with you just in case you haven’t seen it.  So, here we go.

1. Select a young male protagonist.

2. Remove parents and have him live with an aunt or uncle.

3. Introduce an old wise, bearded mentor.

4. introduce some supernatural help.

5. Add a super evil villain who wants to take over the world.

6. And a character striving for redemption, like Golem, Prof. Snape or Darth Vadar (after he takes the helmet off  lol).

And that’s it.  Sounds pretty simple, doesn’t it?  I guess basically it is but there’s nothing in there about plot or character development.  Or coming up with that enticing first line and catchy first paragraph/chapter.  Or finding the time to write it all down.  Or how to write a synopsis or query.  I think queries were the bane of my writing existence until my agent Terrie saved me from writing them. lol

What do you think?  Is this good advice for a starting writer?  I don’t know what I’d have done if someone presented me with that before I started writing.  Probably the same thing I’m doing with it now, laugh, dismiss it and keep writing my way.  lol

