Gather round my little darklings and gothlings, it’s Friday the 13th!  Lots of people believe that this is an unlucky day.  It ranks right up there with black cats crossing your path and a shiver means someone’s walking over where your grave will be.  For the record, I’ve checked my books on superstitions, of course I have a couple, and a black cat is not bad luck.  That just goes back to the Burning Times when people just assumed a black cat was a witches familiar.  But if you can’t let that go, blow a kiss at it as it crosses your path and that will erase the bad luck.  I prefer the belief that it means you can make a wish, which probably also goes back to witches and familiars carrying the wish back to their witch.  And if you shiver, you’re probably chilly.  Just think about how many cold chills you get in a single winter.  Either you’ve got a lot of graves out there or there’s a bunch of people trodding over your spot. lol

Anyway, back to today.  I don’t believe today is an unlucky day.  I used to when I was young and didn’t know any better.  Now I look forward to it like I do a blue moon (which is not blue by the way but just a second full moon in a month) because there’s supposed to be extra magical.  Or Halloween and we all know that’s the coolest day of the year. 🙂  I think there’s extra potential for unexplained things to happen.  Not necessarily bad things but something.  And a lot of lucky and unlucky is just in how you look at it anyway.  This is from someone who really does have bad luck most of the time.  If something can go wrong for me, it will and I have no fear of Friday the 13th.

So here’s my advice, if you can’t let go of today being an unlucky one, think about it this way.  At least it’s Friday and that’s a good thing, right? 🙂

