When do you know you’ve got a story that worth something?  Because despite what a lot of people think, it’s not easy to get your creation going, work on it and then send it out to the world to be judged by other people.  It’s difficult to do and harder to hear that a little piece of you isn’t good enough. lol  So when do you know your story is worth the trouble and the risk?  Is it when the idea pops in your head and you’ve got to get it out?  Or do you sit down and tell yourself that today you are going to write and you are going to make it great?  Do you let the idea run around inside your head gathering steam and details and pieces of people and story until you have enough to get started?

My best stuff comes when I get a title or a first line in my head that I just know has a story to with them.  If I can build a bit around those before I get to the computer, that’s even better.  If it can brew some, that’s great.  But I do occasionally sit down and tell myself to write something new.  Sometimes those stories get accepted, so I guess it works.  But my favorite is the first way.  It just feels better to me for some reason.  Maybe it’s the buzz you get when a Muse taps you on the shoulder, I don’t know.  🙂

So what do you do?  Do you wait for inspiration or do you make it come to you?

