I was thinking again, darklings, about all the writing I did when I was younger.  I used to write all of the time.  If you’re a fiction writer reading this, you probably did too.  Books and floppy disks of short stories and poetry that I just wrote and never did a thing with because I thought you had to be a “grown up” to write a “real” book.  I thought you had to take college classes and graduate with degree in literature to be taken seriously.  I thought I had talent but needed someone to show me what to do with it.

That’s not really the case, though, is it?  There are teenagers with book deals.  There are magazines that only want stories from teenagers or “youths”.  I don’t regret that time because I gave me what the classes I didn’t take didn’t give me.  Experience and the ability to count on myself.  But I did wonder, just where would I be if I had taken some time and looked at a Writer’s Digest?  Suppose I gave up some of my boyfriend time and play time and did what I’m doing now?  I can’t imagine how bad the editing would have been considering that without some help and going through Brimstone Blues a few hundred (that’s an exaggeration) the editing wouldn’t be stellar now.  lol

My point is, if there’s some young gothling out there who’s got the gift for this craft or art, whatever you want to call it, it wouldn’t hurt to put a toe out there and test the waters.  Learn the ropes when you’re young, so when you’re “grown up”, a query or a synopsis is second nature.  You won’t agonize over a rejection letter and an acceptance will still feel just as great.  You’ll learn that the bad stuff in a critique will just make you better and the good stuff will still give you the thrill is does now.  I promise.

Anyway, it was just a thought.  😉

