I know it’s still August but I feel the need for Halloween.  I love, love, love Halloween.  And I don’t just mean candy, which doesn’t hurt because, come on, it’s chocolate, but I love that feeling.  That sense that something wicked this way very well MAY be coming.  The smell of autumn, crisp air when warm is still trying to struggle, the crunch of the brown leaves that have fallen from the trees.  The leaves that are left that are blazing in golden, red and orange.  Kids are running around excited even if they’re not really sure why.  There’s finally never a shortage of horror movies.

For me, though, it’s more than that.  I feel like I can be me without the weird looks.  The season just feels like possibilities for magic.  It could happen.  My black make-up isn’t so strange.  My black hair with the occasional odd colored streaks isn’t out of the ordinary.  I fit in Halloween.  Samhain.  The Witching Season.  Take your pick.  I really believe this year something good will happen.  Take a minute and look around.  Breathe in the air, appreciate the beauty of it.  Death can have just as much loveliness and grace as life if you look at it the right way.

I want to finish my book by then, I think.  That is a big undertaking if you’ve even written a book but right now I think I could do it. 

Do you love the season, gothlings?  Really love it?  What do you love?  What do you do?  How do you celebrate it?  Share with me your love of my love.

